Media Library

News Releases

President Higgins appoints Chief Commissioner and 8 Commissioners to the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission

Date: Fri 31st Jul, 2020 | 16:18

President Michael D. Higgins has signed the warrants to appoint the new Chief Commissioner and eight Commissioners to the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission.

Their appointment takes effect from today, 31 July 2020.

The President sends his best wishes to the newly appointed Chief Commissioner, Sinéad Gibney, and to all the Commissioners in the fulfilment of their duties in the promotion and protection of human rights and equality in Ireland, and in building a culture of respect for human rights, equality and intercultural understanding.


Commissioners appointed:

  • Sinead Gibney (Chief Commissioner)
  • Dr. Rosaleen McDonagh
  • An tOllamh Ray Murphy
  • Sunniva McDonagh
  • Dr. Lucy Michael
  • Jim Clarken
  • Adam Harris
  • An tOllamh Kathleen Lynch
  • Michael Finucane