Media Library

News Releases

President appoints Ministers

Date: Tue 16th Oct, 2018 | 19:30

At a ceremony at Áras an Uachtaráin, President Higgins today appointed Richard Bruton TD as Minister for Communications, Climate Action & Environment; Joe McHugh TD as Minister for Education & Skills; and Sean Kyne TD as Minister of State at the Department of the Taoiseach with special responsibility as Government Chief Whip and Minister of State at the Department of Culture, Heritage, and the Gaeltacht with special responsibility for Gaeilge, Gaeltacht and the Islands.

Also in attendance at the ceremony were An Taoiseach Leo Varadkar TD, Mr. Martin Fraser Secretary General of the Department of the Taoiseach, and Mr. Art O’Leary, Secretary General to the President.