Media Library

News Releases

President and Sabina Higgins host event to commemorate the 75th Anniversary of the Presidency

Date: Sat 1st Jun, 2013 | 15:00

President Michael D. Higgins and Sabina Higgins hosted an event at Áras an Uachtaráin this evening (7.30) to commemorate the 75th anniversary of the inauguration of the first President of Ireland under Bunreacht na hÉireann 1937.  President Dubhghlas de hÍde (Douglas Hyde) took office on the 25th of June 1938.

In attendance at the event were former Presidents Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese, accompanied by their spouses, Mr Nick Robinson and Dr. Martin McAleese. Also in attendance were representatives of the families of former Presidents Dubhghlas de hÍde, Seán T. O’Ceallaigh, Eamon de Valera, Erskine Childers, Cearbhall Ó’Dálaigh and Patrick Hillery.

Speaking this evening President Higgins said:

“Sabina and I felt it was important to mark this special 75th anniversary of the inauguration of Uachtarán na hÉireann and his arrival at Áras an Uachtaráin, which continues as the home of the President of Ireland to this day. We are delighted that former Presidents Mary Robinson and Mary McAleese were able to join us, together with their respective husbands Nick and Martin. I am also pleased that representatives of the de hÍde, O’Ceallaigh, de Valera, Ó’Dálaigh, Childers and Hillery families were able to be here, and particularly happy that Mrs Maeve Hillery is present”.

President Higgins went on to say:

“In reflecting on how the eight previous holders of the Presidency discharged that duty of service, I am very conscious that each of them brought to the office their own talents, skills, life experience and sense of idealism. They discharged their duties during different periods with specific challenges and circumstances. Those varying contexts brought with them specific constraints, as well as opportunities. The Office of Uachtarán na hÉireann is an important part of our constitutional architecture, history and heritage, and the important role played by our previous Presidents in shaping and developing it is widely recognised”