President meets SFI President of Ireland Future Research Leaders Awardees

Mon 2nd Mar, 2020 | 14:30
location: (Dublin) Áras an Uachtaráín

(Dublin) Áras an Uachtaráín

Monday, 02nd March, 2020

President meets SFI President of Ireland Future Research Leaders Awardees

President Higgins honoured ten recipients of the ‘President of Ireland Future Research Leaders Award’, at a special ceremony in Áras an Uachtaráin.

The Science Foundation Ireland ‘President of Ireland Future Research Leaders Programme’ recruits outstanding and emerging early career research leaders, in a range of areas.


President Higgins has long been a strong supporter of the sciences, and an advocate for equal access to learning. The President has used his term in office to highlight the important role science plays in empowering people to innovate and collaborate for a better future for all people.


The 2020 recipients were:

  • Honorary Prof Caitriona Jackman, DIAS - Data analytics and machine learning in Space Science
  • Assistant Prof Joanne Masterson, Maynooth University - Transcriptional Mechanisms Controlling Epithelial Cell Fate Determination during Allergic Esophageal Inflammation in Eosinophilic Oesophagitis
  • Assistant Prof Eóin McNamee, Maynooth University - MicroRNA control of Mucosal Inflammation
  • Assistant Prof Suzanne Cloonan, Trinity College Dublin - The “Ironome” of the Lung and Disease Pathogenesis
  • Assistant Prof David Loane, Trinity College Dublin - NOX2 and the chronic pathologies of traumatic brain injury (TBI) - Integrating basic and translational research to improve TBI outcomes
  • Associate Prof Nessa O’Connor, TCD - Beyond biofuel: Advanced seaweed cultivation for marine biodiscovery and climate change mitigation
  • Associate Prof Roman Romero-Ortuno, TCD - FRAILMatics: Mathematical research and big data analytics towards the development of the next generation of transdisciplinary diagnostics for the assessment of physiological vulnerability in older adults: challenge-based disruptive technology initiative
  • Dr Rory Johnson, UCD - Discovering non-protein-coding vulnerabilities in lung cancer with CRISPR-Cas9
  • Assistant Prof Sónia Negrao, UCD - Looking into time - how abiotic stress impacts barley production and malting quality
  • Associate Prof Stephen Redmond - Design of tactile sensors for robotic and prosthetic grippers inspired by human touch