Ambassadors present their credentials

Tue 5th Jul, 2016 | 11:30
location: Áras an Uachtaráin
Ambassadors present their credentials

Their Excellencies, the Ambassadors of the People’s Republic of China, the Republic of Malawi and the Republic of Indonesia presented their Letters of Credence to the President at Áras an Uachtaráin today.

H.E. Mr. Xiaoyong Yue, Ambassador of the People’s Republic of China, was accompanied by Madam Hua Yang, Political Counsellor and Deputy Head of Mission.

H.E. Mr. Kena Mphonda, Ambassador of the Republic of Malawi, was accompanied by his wife, Mrs. Mary Chokani Mphonda, and by Mr. Mufwa Maurice Munthali, Counsellor for Trade and Investment at the Embassy.

H.E. Mr. Rizal Sukma, Ambassador of the Republic of Indonesia, was accompanied by his wife, Mrs. Hana Afija Satrijo, and by Mr. Eka Suripto, Minister-Counsellor for Protocol and Consular Affairs at the Embassy.

Mr. Eoghan Murphy, T.D., Minister of State for Financial Services, eGovernment and Public Procurement at the Departments of Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, represented the Government at the ceremony.

The following were also present:  Mr. Art O’Leary, Secretary-General to the President;

Mr. Michael Gaffey, Assistant Secretary, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade; Ms. Síle Maguire, Chief of Protocol;  Mr. Joe Brennan and Ms. Claire Buckley, Protocol, Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

The Ambassadors were escorted to and from Áras an Uachtaráin by an Escort of Honour consisting of a motorcycle detachment drawn from the 2nd Cavalry Squadron, Cathal Brugha Barracks, Dublin, under the command of Second Lieutenant David Kelly.

A Guard of Honour was provided at Áras an Uachtaráin by the 3rd Infantry Battalion, Stephens Barracks, Co. Kilkenny, under the command of Lieutenant Shane Flood. 

Captain Thomas Kelly conducted the 2nd Brigade Band, Custume Barracks, Athlone, Co. Westmeath.